bef20Host Andrea Ocampo was on hand for the second annual Hall of Fame Distinguished Alumni Awards, which recognizes graduates of Broward County Public Schools who have made positive contributions to education, the community and have achieved success in their careers. The Broward Education Foundation (BEF), the 501C charitable organization serving public schools in Broward County, honored seven Hall of Fame Distinguished Alumni inductees at a breakfast on Wednesday, October 22, at the Global Grille and Event Center at 301 E Broward Boulevard, 2nd floor, Fort Lauderdale.

John Aycock, former principal and area superintendent for Broward School District, will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award posthumously. Aycock was the first principal at Driftwood Middle School, started the horticulture program at McArthur High School and was the first principal at Boyd Anderson High School to introduce computers and the International Baccalaureate Program.

Outstanding Achievement Awards will be presented to Edwin Moore, PhD, of Tallahassee, president of Independent Colleges and Universities of Florida; Eugene Pettis, JD, co-founder of Haliczer, Pettis & Schwamm law firm in downtown Fort Lauderdale; and Errict Rhett, former NFL player and president of the Errict Rhett Foundation, based in Plantation.

Recipients in the Education Achievement Award category include Desmond Blackburn, PhD, chief school performance and accountability officer for Broward Schools; Lynn Goldman, community liaison to the Broward Technical Schools; and Jennifer Hamilton, athletic director for Stranahan High School.

“Our committee was overwhelmed this year with outstanding candidates for our Hall of Fame,” said BEF President and CEO Tom Severino. “We can all share the sense of pride that comes with knowing that our community schools produce so many successful leaders.”

Twan Russell, former Miami Dolphins player and the team’s current director of youth and community programs, will serve as master of ceremonies for the award’s event. Broward Schools Superintendent Robert Runcie was the keynote speaker.